Go To Search
Depicted are historical figures from New Braunfels' past.
It's Your Right
Fair Housing
The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing because of:
  • Race or color
  • Sex
  • National origin
  • Family status
  • Religion
  • Disability

The Fair Housing Act prohibits discriminatory practices based upon race or color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or disability in the sale of housing, rental of housing, and mortgage lending.

The Fair Housing Act covers most housing. In some circumstances the Act exempts owner-occupied buildings with no more than four units, single-family housing sold or rented without the use of a broker, and housing operated by organizations and private clubs that limit occupancy to members.

If you have questions regarding the Fair Housing Act or need information please contact the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development, public trust officer, at (210) 475-6885.